SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
webuser_878159203

Help with Christmas gift / starting my wife with a cut garden.

HU-878159203
last year
last modified: last year

My wife has expressed an interest in wanting to start a cut garden, particularly she wants to potentially have flowers she can hang and dry and make bouquets for guests that visit, however I'm sure making fresh bouquets would also be nice. I wanted to make that part of her Christmas gift this year is basically everything she needs to get started with that but I have very little knowledge of flower gardening. I was hoping that perhaps someone here wouldn't mind imparting some wisdom so I can get her started right with it and buy the right kind of things.

So first, we have a few raised garden beds down at the edge of our yard that we've grown leafy greens in (our soil is extremely rocky so we require raised beds to plant anything). She was just going to use those but 1) they don't have full sun option and 2) I've found she really prefers to keep and tend to potted plants up on our deck so I was considering maybe investing in a nice planter for the deck, perhaps even in addition to the garden beds? I was looking at rolling carts like this: https://www.gardeners.com/buy/demeter-mobile-planter-cart/8594148.html or some sort of self watering thing like this: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B079SQRL46 . Frankly I just don't really know the first thing though and don't know if these stand up type boxes are not ideal / only for folks with out yard space or what. Any advice on that is super appreciated.