SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
cynthia_nebraskaz5

What I've learned I don't know about rose gardening

Hi folks

I've been growing roses more or less seriously for 15 years or so and have kinda felt like I'm getting the hang of things in the last few years. Not that I'm always successful by any stretch, but I chime in periodically about things I think I know like hardiness or bloom power of particular roses in my zone 5. I haven't posted as often lately as I used to because I've had to live on the computer for work since COVID (apologies to my GW family here), but I still lurk.

I've discovered in the last year or so that there is still a ton I don't know about growing roses in my own zone. I was buying my usual cartload of 20+ roses at Home Depot last spring (as a start for replacing the 150+ roses that usually die on me each year out of 1000), and I got to chatting with another lady doing the same. We were sharing notes about roses we liked, and when she reached for an Angel Face body bag I quickly and confidently stated that it's not going to survive in our zone 5 Nebraska. She responded, "That's odd, I don't have any trouble with Angel Face".

My jaw dropped. You mean ANGEL FACE? The heartbreakingly lovely 6 inch high lavender wimp that has one or two blooms before fainting onto its metaphoric couch and dying in rapid consumptive gasps? It's like saying unicorns thrive in our lakes and rivers. Sure, it may be reliable in warmer zones and I wouldn't argue with someone from California saying that. But in my zone 5 bitterly cold then baking hot and dry Nebraska? No way (I thought to myself). Still, I figured I had to learn the secret for keeping this rose happy. Turns out she was the president of our local rose society, so I signed myself up to join the next meetings.