SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
lynn_nevins

Rosa Setigera (climbing prairie rose)

Lynn Nevins
4 years ago
last modified: 4 years ago

Hi all.

So I've been gardening for about 15 years now...mainly as a container gardener, and a bit of gardening done in a 'real yard with dirt'. But most of my experience is with containers.

While I know containers have their own unique needs (more frequent watering, and extra protection for the plant/roots during the colder months), aside from that, I'd always been of the understanding that most anything that can grow in a traditional dirt yard can also be grown in a container. But that you may need to do a bit of pruning now and then...of the visible plant...of the root ball...and providing extra soil ammendments...potting-up as needed....so that the plant is happy in its container.

And indeed, I've successfully grown a number of perennials in pots...blueberry shrubs... hydrangea... Japanese maple, etc.

This past fall I bought a bareroot Rosa Setigera. Come this past Spring, I noticed that while other gardeners in the area (with DIRT yards) ...I noticed that all their rose bushes were in full bloom, my Rosa Setigera barely had any leaf growth, never mind flower buds or flowers. The response I received about this was for the most part that 'this is NOT a plant that can grow in a pot'. (I took that comment to imply that THAT was why I was not seeing any new growth...that my putting it in a pot had already ruined any chances for survival/new growth...) However, a few other people explained to me that this type of rose blooms later in the year than traditional rose shrubs, and that maybe I just needed to wait a bit more. That said however, they also told me it may take a few years for me to see actual FLOWERING.